top of page
Search
  • ashleymaddenc

How To: Succulent Arrangement

Updated: May 27, 2019




Succulents can be great plants for centerpieces or other decor. They thrive outside and lots of sun but low direct sunlight. AND: low. water.


This succulent arrangement had a focal point of the largest green echeveria succulent with purple tips. It had a spiller plant that resembles eucalyptus which will act as the unique form aspect. Where the darkest rosette succulent is placed, a taller linear succulent would have looked great there, but the roots would have quickly dove deeper than this pot can hold.


A great place to put this arrangement would be on a patio outside underneath an awning.

I chose a giant white rustic teacup for this arrangement, which unfortunately goes against my rule of having a drainage hole. To allow as much air in the bottom of the pot as possible, I put a layer of tiny river rocks and a layer of sand on top of that. The sand was damp from the bag I scooped it from, so I let those two layers dry overnight.


I then added a layer of regular potting soil, but it also would have thrived in cacti or succulent potting mix. Since I also added another layer of small gravel on top, I wasn't too concerned about the media of the arrangement holding a vast amount of water.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page