top of page
Search
  • ashleymaddenc

Landscapes Won't Design Themselves

Updated: Jun 26, 2019

Recently I got to shadow the owner and official landscape designer of Shades of Green. There is a lot that goes into designing that I hadn't thought of. You have to be precise in measurements on paper to match the scale of the landscape. You have to be aware of what is already in the backyard, certain tastes the customer prefers, the various directions the landscape faces, heights of windows, pet and children interactions, and more. He is even mindful of what plants go dormant in the winter to make sure all parts of the yard are looking fresh and green year-round.


Jeff showed me the ropes the first couple of days by drawing up a design, bringing me to assess customer's houses, and presenting the designs to customers. By the end, I drew up a design and labeled everything myself. I am just excited not too many of my choices of plants got erased!!!



Jeff doin' his thing!

Final Product!

He also described to me that even though the design sketch looks busy, it would be the same as labeling everything in your living room from carpet to pictures to lighting. A variety of plants, trees, boulders, and mulch that complement each other is what ties together a landscape!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page